fda1c0492784879e2b252af3a708ee8a

Well that’s it.  Two blastocysts moved in today.  I hope they like it enough to stick around.

I left home with plenty of time.  As I had to go to Harley Street in central London, I opted for train and tube rather than driving (hubby’s experience of doing that at the egg collection stage was not a good one!).  I thought that would be less stressful and just easier in general.

However, they can be unreliable – hence allowing myself plenty of time.  So, when I got to my local station to find a packed platform and not enough space on the first train…..it was fine.  I was happy to wait for the next one.  When there was a delay on the tube because of a broken down train…..again it was fine…..actually did me a favour preventing me from being too early!

Knowing I had to have a full bladder for this (I hate that part), I emptied my bladder before I left home.  I had a drink with me for the journey.  I was more than half an hour early – but felt comfortable…..by the time my appointment was due – I’d be ready.  Speaking to the receptionist they had my name on the list (phew!) but said there was a slight delay.  They had had a fire alarm earlier on in the day.  At this point I started getting a little concerned….would my bladder hold out.  ‘Don’t drink any more’ the receptionist said ‘just to be sure’. Great!

15 minutes after my appointment time (not too bad I thought), I was taken in.  After getting in the normal garb (those sexy hospital gowns) I was then scanned (externally) to make sure my bladder was sufficiently full.  The nurse looked at the screen, ‘Oh you are more than ready!’….hmmm yes thanks…….I know that already……..I feel like my bladder is about to burst!

After all the polite introductions, the embryologist confirmed both embryos survived the thaw. What a relief! Then before I knew it, I was lying back on the bed, legs akimbo and in stirrups with the bed god knows how high in the air.  A giant light shining on my minnie, just to be sure everyone got a good view!  Sadly, after being on this road for so long, I was actually beyond caring.

I’ve posted before about the actual process followed, and this was exactly the same.  All in all, in lasted 5 minutes.

After that, I pee’d for England, got dressed and headed home again.  A nice leisurely pace, all the time in the world.

So here we go, the start of the infamous 2 week wait (2WW).  On 10th April we’ll find out.  Come on little beans……stick…….hang on for your lives………please like your new home!

 

