After my appointment this morning, this is what the doctors have decided for me. Having my Frozen Embryo Transfer on a Hormone Replacement Therapy.

This means, day 1 of my cycle is when I start Buserelin injections. I have to inject myself twice a day, 12 hours apart.  2 weeks after that I’ll have a scan to confirm that I have ‘down regulated’ (basically my ovaries have shut down). As long as the medication has worked, then I will start taking Oestradiol Valorate (oral tablets) 3 times a day while still continuing with the injections.  2 weeks after that I will then be scanned again to check that my lining is at least 8mm thick. If all looks good, I stop the injections, continue the Oestradiol Valorate and start using the progesterone pessaries (those bad boys again! Ergh!).  At that point I’ll be booked in for the actual transfer within 3 to 7 days.

So all in all, that process will be 5 weeks at most. I am ‘due’ to start my cycle in 2 weeks. Whilst I doubt my body will work to time…..this means in 7 weeks time I could be having the transfer.  In 9 weeks then testing to see if it worked.  This makes it seem much more real now….I so hope this works, but am trying to be realistic that it might not.  We may not be lucky enough to have a sticky bean…..or problems could happen during the thaw out.

Because of my age, they have agreed to try transferring 2 embryos. If neither of these work, I’ll do future attempts one at a time I think. I only have 5, so I feel like I have to be tactical to maximise chances of a successful bubba.

In other news, I didn’t get the job I went for last week. But I got really positive feedback from the guy that interviewed me, so that has helped me boost my confidence to go for others when they arise. 

So it’s been a good week. Hopefully there will be more to come!

