large_538406326

The plan had initially been, start the IVF treatment around the 13th October.  That was based on the last few months cycles – they had been, miraculously, between 4 and 5 weeks.  In reality – 10th October was the 28 day date – when most ‘normal’ people would be due on.  Working to plan this would mean we would go through the process and be taking a pregnancy test around mid November.

Needless to say, my body decided it didn’t want to co-operate.  Last Wednesday I spoke with the clinic and they ordered all the medication for the process.  They also confirmed that they would then consider inducing my period with medication if it didn’t arrive soon.

So Saturday, this lot was delivered.  I expected a lot, but it still seemed to be so much!

Then on Sunday, my period arrived without medication.  Finally.  I literally thought to myself ‘About bloody time!’.  This meant that Monday I had my day 2 scan and told to start the course.  The doctor confirmed the scan looked normal with my left ovary looking more poly-cystic than the right.  As I walked home from the hospital – it all suddenly became very real.  Its all very over whelming.  Almost a panic.

That evening I started my injections of Gonal-f. 150 units every night.  I’ve been told to do it at roughly that same time every day – so 7.30pm is my time.  I take the injection and my folic acid tablets together. So far, I’ve not felt any different.  No emotional roller-coaster (yet) and no bloating (yet).  But I have felt incredibly thirsty the last few days and I can’t be sure if that is because of the medication or psychological.  The clinic told me to ensure I drank lots because the body will need extra fluid to support the growth of multiple eggs – so knowing this, I don’t know if it is a real feeling or not.  But either way, I am making sure I am drinking a lot more than normal to be sure.

On Friday I have my day 6 scan – all to schedule with the one they gave me.  I should also be having a blood test the same day.  Looking through the schedule they gave me, I calculated that the eggs should be collected on 14th November.  I wonder whether that will all go to plan.

For the last 9 years, everything seems to have been plodding along at a slow slow pace that frustrated the hell out of me.  Now I feel that I am in full on sprint mode and I am bricking it.  I feel absolutely petrified all of sudden.  Scared it will work, scared it won’t work.  Just scared full stop.  Deep breaths and take one day at a time.  That’s all I can do now.

 

 

 

