I’ve learnt a lot about thinking before I speak now and never to make assumptions from how things look – especially being told for the umpteenth time ‘Its about time you two had kids….you don’t want to leave it too late….’

I know people don’t mean any harm by saying it – and I completely agree!!! Which is what makes it all the more frustrating!

So now, I watch what I say, appreciating that things may never be as easy as they seem.  Sometimes I want to scream back and explain how hard the last 5 years have been.  Feeling a failure is an understatement.

At times I do make assumptions – in that I assume its been easy for everyone else, and its just us that have no luck.  I know its not true, but when I see someone – anyone – walking down the street with a baby in a buggy – the little green eyed monster appears and thinks its not fair.

BUT – I’m learning to reign myself in.  I force myself to look at the big picture again.  That person may have been trying for 10 years to have that baby.  That baby may have been the result of IVF, that baby may be adopted, it may be a niece or nephew.  This helps me get over the ‘woe is me’ moment.

I came across this picture the other day and thought it hilarious – it fully supports the principle…..think before you speak!!

